Covid-19 Update


Porirua City is at the orange setting of the traffic lights protection framework. This means some changes to the way we work and live, as protections are in place to help minimise the spread of Covid-19 in the community. Find out more

For up to date information about alert levels, community cases, and getting tested visit and

Council facilities & services Covid-19 welfare information Small business support

Civic awards recipients

The Porirua Civic Awards recognise Porirua citizens for their outstanding voluntary service to the community. Here's a list of previous recipients.


Civic Awards 2019

This year seven residents received Civic Awards for their outstanding voluntary service to the community:

Judi Doornbos - for her extensive volunteer work over decades to a range of community groups, including the Paremata Residents' Association, Paremata Kindergarten, Paremata Boating Club, and her the Transmission Motorway Action Council.

John Hannan - for his decades of volunteer work as a support officer for the Returned Services Association caring for the needs of ex-servicemen and women, plus RSA projects such as the recent revamp of the Peace Memorial at Te Rauparaha Park.

Chrissy Leggott - for her tireless efforts in the community who need assistance with her Chrissy's All For Free donated goods charity.

Dr John McKoy - for his years of commitment to the work of the Pauatahanui Inlet Community Trust, Guardians of the Pauatahanui Inlet, Friends of Mana Island, Te Awarua-o Porirua  Whaitua Committee and the Friends of Taupo Swamp to help improve the health of our inlet and harbour and associated ecosystems.

Geoff Mowday - for his seven years of volunteer work as Chairman of the Whitby Residents' Association and success driving a wide range of local projects and activities in the community.

Kim Murray – for her years of volunteer work for Bellyful Porirua, Mary Potter Hospice, Wesley Fruit & Vege Co-op and WELLfed.

Tony Shaw – for more than a decade of volunteer work as a member of Guardians of Pauatahanui Inlet since 2005, and as Chairman since 2014, in support of the inlet’s ecological, historical and cultural values.


Civic Awards 2017 Recipients - group

Above, from left - Cheryl Brown, John Te Arawai Ngahana-Hartley, Annabell Malaulau, Jeff Chapman, Dr Elizabeth Sneyd and Craig Utting.

Annabel Malaulau
Ngāhana Hartley
Cheryl Brown
Jeff Chapman
Craig Utting
Dr Elizabeth Sneyd


Liz Harley 
Graham Kelly 
Esther McKendrick 
Le'autuli'ilagi Taotua M.F.Sauvao 


Porirua50 Awards took the place of Civic Awards for 2015.

Mary Casey
Ted Gallen
Pat McCalman
Judy McKoy

Rihia Kenny
Professor John Wells
Dave Wilson
Christine Stanley

Poppy Daymond
Ann Mills
Juliet Bellingham
June and Neil Penman


Robert Brace
Tony Jackman
Moana Tuariki
Helen Chipper

Sandra Andrews
Te Huri Arthur


John Watson
Jay Marson
Margaret Armour
Tom Daniels

Fuimaono Epirosa Setefono
Kahuwaero Katene
Adalina (Freda) Tohill

Pip Piper
Russell Morrison
Tiketi Auega

Mrs Elizabeth Lee-Lo-Smith
Dr Margaret Lockhart Bailey
Mrs Lynne Renouf
Lemoli Wally Ranfurly

James Harland
Barbara Bundy

Bob Cater
Minnie Kuiti
Cynthia Petersen
John Leighton

Vivien Morton
Avalon Mikaere-Williams
John Garner
Narendra Sahay

Dr Margaret Guthrie
Dennis Ormsby
Utanga Wineera
Rev Sylvia Jenkins
Fa’alelei Te’o

Ivy Stuart
Dr Allan Nichols
Janet Margaret Berry
Jan Nixon
Selwyn Tattersall
Helen Smith
Alison Wong
Lindsay Forbes
Robert Batten
Tui McLauchlan

Michael Graham
Taukiri Wahine Thomason
John Wilce
Veronica Allum
Ivan Hardgrave

George McNeillage
Antony England
Janet Gibbons
Kath Cherrie

Alfred Potaka
Margaret Joyce Henderson
Margaret Campbell Johnson

Beryl Brown
Eric Fowke
Thelma Margaret Stevens
Murray Woodley

Margaret Hughes
Angus Langbein
Helen Mary Painter

Lorraine Jean Williams
Sarah Renata Smith
Alfred Edward Mexted
Kathleen Mabel Mexted

Eileen Adams
John (Jack) Collins
Don Smith
Nui Sila Taupe

Ken Arthur
Gordon Lee
Zelda Clarke
Jean Stratford
Jack Underhill