2019 Elections


This year is your chance to choose who you want to make the big decisions about our city by voting in the 2019 Local Elections for the Councillors in the ward you live, as well as deciding on our Mayor

For individual candidate profiles and contact details click the links below. All candidates were given the opportunity to film a one minute video for the website. The videos of those who took up the opportunity can be found on their candidate page:

Our Meet the Candidates page has details of candidate meetings taking place around the city.

Where to vote

Local elections are done by postal vote. Voting papers will be sent to enrolled voters from 20 September.

There are lots of ways to return your voting papers. They can be posted (before 5 October) or dropped off in various places - click here for all the options and remember to vote early. 

Votes will be counted on 12 October and you are encouraged to vote by 5 October to make sure your papers get there on time.

Handy information

To be able to vote you must be:

  • Aged 18 years or over.
  • A New Zealand citizen or permanent resident.
  • Enrolled to vote.
  • Living or renting in Porirua.

To be able to make a postal vote you need to be enrolled to vote before 16 August. 

Useful Information

Porirua City Pre-election Report 2019

Before every Local Elections we have to provide a pre-election report, which gives a financial and operational snapshot of where we are as a Council. 

Click the link below to download a copy of this report. 

Who am I voting for?

Click the green box below to see who you can vote for at this year's Local Elections

At this year's Local Elections voters in Porirua will be voting for candidates for the following positions:

Porirua City Council:

  • Mayor 
  • 10 City Councillors for the three Council Wards
  1. Eastern Ward/Pāutahanui ki te uunga mai o te ra - Four Councillors
  2. Northern Ward/Pukerua ki te Raki - Four Councillors


  3. Western Ward/Titahi Rangituhi Porirua ki te uru - Two Councillors
  • Greater Wellington Regional Council - Two Council Members from the Porirua-Tawa Constituency
  • Capital Coast District Health Board - Seven members
  • Hutt Mana Charitable Trust - One Member

List of nominations:

All confirmed nominations can be found here in the final Nominations Report.

Are you enrolled to vote?

Click the box below to find out how you can enrol to vote.

It sounds obvious but you can't vote unless you are enrolled to vote!

To enrol you must be:

  • Aged 18 years or over.
  • Living or renting in Porirua.

The easiest way to vote is using a postal vote, and to do this you have to be enrolled before 16 August.

Enrolling to vote, making sure you are enrolled or simply checking your details are right is really straightforward. 

The Electoral Commission have put together this simple tool to make things easy for you.

You can also find out who can and can't enrol to vote.

Not sure what the voting process is all about, why you should vote and who is eligible to vote? 

Then check out this easy-to-understand LGNZ guide and get the answers to your voting questions.

You can also find out how you can enrol and vote with a disability

How to enrol

Find your nearest post box

Local Elections are done by postal vote. Not sure where your nearest post box is? Check this NZ Post link to find out. 

There will be other locations around the city where you can drop your voting papers – we'll let you know where and when you can do this once voting papers are sent out.

Electioneering signs

You need a permit to display signs on public or private land. Everything you need to know, and a map of locations can be found here.

Notice of Election

The official notice of elections, with details of how and where you can vote, who you are voting for, and how to enrol , is below.

notice of election 29/8