Stand for Council - Candidate Information

Why should I stand for Council?

Councillors and the Mayor play a crucial role in the key decisions that affect and shape our city.

From important funding decisions to setting the overall direction our city takes, our 10 Councillors and Mayor are critical players in creating the kind of city we all want to live and work in.  

If you are passionate about developing Council policies that will help Porirua meet the challenges its facing, and representing our city and its people, then you could be the right person to stand for Council. 

Find out everything you need to know  about standing for Council by reading our Candidate Information Handbook (PDF 1.88MB)

How do I stand for Council?

In order to stand for election and candidate needs to be:

  • A New Zealand citizen (by birth or citizenship ceremony); and,
  • Enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and,
  • Nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.
  • Nominated between Friday 19 July 2019 and noon on Friday 16 August:

You can nominate a candidate for the following positions:

  • Mayor 
  • 10 Councillor positions

At the Local Elections Candidates stand for the following Council positions in our three Electoral Wards:

Nominate a Candidate

To stand for election you must be nominated by two people who are registered on the electoral roll within the ward you are standing.

Nomination papers:

You can also get hold of nomination papers in a number of ways:

Candidate Donations

To help candidates navigate the rules around donations, the New Zealand Society of Local Government managers have prepared some simple advice.

Need a hand?

Additional information on standing for Council can be found in our 2019 Candidate Information Handbook on our website towards the top of this page.

Please feel free to contact us if you need more information:

Lynlee Baily, Manager Democratic Services/Deputy Electoral Officer

Phone (04) 237 5089



Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

Independent Election Services Ltd

Phone 0800 922 822