2016 elections

The Inaugural Council meeting, where the Mayor and Councillors made their official declaration and oath of office, was held on Wednesday 26 October 2016.

Results of 2016 election

  • Mike Tana is declared elected Mayor.  
  • Anita Baker, Ross Leggett, Beverley Wakem and Dale Williams are declared elected for Northern ward.
  • 'Ana Coffey and Mike Duncan are declared elected for Western ward.
  • John Burke, Izzy Ford, Faafoi Seiuli and Kylie Wihapi are declared elected for Eastern ward.
  • Litea Ah Hoi, John Burke, Izzy Ford and Henry Smith are declared elected for Porirua Community Trust - Ward 1 .
  • 2016 triennial elections declaration of result

Return of Electoral Expenses and Donations Forms

All candidates are required to return their Electoral Expenses and Donations Form.

A copy of these can be viewed on our Returns of Electoral Expenses and Donations page, or at our Customer Services Centre, 16 Cobham Court, Porirua during normal business hours.

Pre-election Report

The Council's 2016 Pre-Election Report was released by the Chief Executive in July 2016.

The information contained in this report was intended to be useful for people considering standing in the Council elections and for electors considering which issues they would like to hear candidates' positions on.  It also provided another opportunity for the general public to be kept informed about the work of the Council on their behalf.