Mayor & councillors

Kia ora and welcome! We’re all about working for the city, to make life even better for the people who live here and provide great experiences and opportunities for businesses and visitors. We represent your views. Come and say Talofa Lava when you see us around the city – ngā mihi, Mayor Mike Tana.

Your Mayor

Mike Tana is the Mayor of Porirua City. He was elected in 2016 for a term of three years. Say kia ora when you spot him.


Councillors are here to represent your views. Have a yarn with them about your ideas for your local area when you see them.


We want to make sure we represent the full diversity of our community, and welcome your input into the decisions we make on your behalf at Council and committee meetings. Anyone is welcome to attend our meetings. You can also view documents for any meeting using our filtered listings below.


Your elected council are the governors of the city. Administration is the job of the Chief Executive and her team.


Committees are the workhorses of our council, where councillors, staff, advisors and you work together to identify the best course of action and make it happen.

Citizenship ceremonies

The Mayor hosts 5 ceremonies per year to award new New Zealanders with citizenship.

Civic Awards

Volunteers make up the heart of our community. We’re pleased to recognise volunteers’ efforts and encourage them to keep up the good work achieving many positive outcomes for Porirua City.

International partnerships

Porirua is an ethnically diverse and multicultural city. Through our people, we have connections to many parts of the Pacific and elsewhere in the world.


Porirua City's 10 councillors and Mayor are elected by residents every 3 years. Our current council was elected in October 2016. The next elections will be on 12 October 2019.