News - bowl of cereal on newspaper


We know how important it is to keep in touch. We publish news in lots of different ways. These are our official media releases and other news updates.

Final results - Porirua City local elections 2022

final 2022 election pcc 14.10

Mayor Anita Baker (front row, second from right) with back row: Councillors Moze Galo, Mike Duncan, Ross Leggett, Josh Trlin, Nathan Waddle and Geoff Hayward; and front row: Kathleen Filo, Tracy Johnson and Izzy Ford, (absent: Kylie Wihapi).

With all votes now counted in the Porirua City local body elections, final results have been released – confirming the make-up of the council that will represent the city for the next three years.

Incumbent Mayor Anita Baker will once again lead the team, after being re-elected for a second term. Mayor Baker received 10,773 votes, ahead of Tapu Elia on 1875 votes, Nicole Foss on 1383 votes and Ura Wilson-Pokoati on 1147.

Elected in the Onepoto General Ward are returning councillors Mike Duncan, Izzy Ford, Geoff Hayward, Moze Galo and new councillor Kathleen Filo.

In the Pāuatahanui General Ward the successful candidates are returning councillors Josh Trlin, Ross Leggett, Nathan Waddle and new councillor Tracy Johnson.

In a close contest in the new Parirua Māori Ward, returning councillor Kylie Wihapi was elected with 590 votes, ahead of Caleb Te Taku Ware on 559.

Mayor Baker said it was an honour and privilege to have been given a strong mandate to lead the city for another three years.

“With a great mix of experienced councillors, and some new faces who will bring fresh ideas, we’re ready to hit the ground running.

“We are a city facing opportunities and challenges and we will tackle these collectively and work hard to get the best possible outcomes for Porirua City.

“I also look forward to continuing our conversations with the people of Porirua to get their input into the shape of the city.”

The council will be sworn in at the inaugural council meeting on 31 October, to be held at Pātaka.

For more details of the results visit

14 Oct 2022