News - bowl of cereal on newspaper


We know how important it is to keep in touch. We publish news in lots of different ways. These are our official media releases, and articles provided to local papers.

Porirua's young leaders celebrated

news - primary school leadership awards

The beautiful voices of the Corinna School Singing Group opened and closed the ceremony.

A group of inspiring young Porirua students were honoured today for their leadership, and service to their schools and the community.

The Rotary Clubs of Porirua and Porirua City Council presented Primary School Leadership Awards to 56 local school children at a ceremony at Elim Church

Steve Haddock, President of Rotary Porirua, says the students are role models who lead by example.

"It is great to see young people achieving in our community. These amazing children are leaders today, and will be the future leaders in Porirua," he says.

Children’s Commissioner, Judge Andrew Becroft, who spoke at the event, agreed.

“These awards are terrific acknowledgement of outstanding, demonstrated, leadership in the school/community/city environment. It’s great to celebrate children who are already standing up and taking the lead right now.

Congratulations on their achievements and to all those involved. “

The children were selected by principals from primary schools throughout Porirua. Two senior students from each school were chosen based on leadership, service above self, and being role models.

The students had been involved in a range of activities including sports, kapa haka, dance, community work, academic pursuits, environmental efforts and supporting and caring for other students .

Past President of the Rotary Club of Plimmerton, Donna Reed, says the students show the leadership qualities admired by Rotary International.

“The Founder, Paul Harris, said in Chicago over 100 years ago that ‘friendship was the foundation rock  on which Rotary was built and tolerance is the element which holds it together’, “she says.

“These are also the qualities of leadership displayed by the youth in the room. What an inspirational group who have stood out from their peers for ‘Service above Self’ not only in their school but also in the community".

A list of recipients is attached. 

For a testimonial on each student, or other queries, please contact Wendy Betteridge at Rotary on 021 417576 or

2019 Award Recipients:

Adventure School

Kayla Wilson 

Angus Barrott

Bishop Viard College

Matthew Dodds

Jeovhani Fa'atiga

Cannons Creek School

V-Eight Enoka

Aliyah Frost

Corinna School

Sylvain Jose

Madison Lee

Discovery School

Rylee Herewini 

Jessyka Tautau

Glenview School

Esariah Sakaria

Aquashious Marsters

Holy Family School

Siu Ala

Liai Lefale

Maraeroa School

Alanis Chong-Nee

Christie DeThierry

Natone Park School

Ianeta Tinielu 

Calais Wawatai

Ngāti Toa School

Holli Vallance

Jaylen Tungatt-Wineera

Papakowhai School

Amelia Taatiti

Emma Kinsela

Paremata School

Abigail Lee

Maia White

Pauatahanui School

Finn Fraser

Neve Miller

Plimmerton School

Tyler Knowles

Nala Trist

Porirua East School

Ataahua Simeon-Williams

Porirua School

Myah Vagea

Ana Bulicakau

Postgate School

Israel Misky

Avani Aiulu

Pukerua Bay School

Joel Roper

Zoe Wilson

Rangikura School

Latrishana Fa'apo

Musharraf Hussain

Russell School

Jan Aye Lia

Galway Panapa

St Pius X School

Lucy Williamson

Jack McCulloch-Childs

St Theresa’s School

Flynn Croasdale

Harrison Croasdale

Samuel Marsden Collegiate School

Cerys Southward-Ellis

Caelan Taylor

Te Kura Maori o Porirua

Te Ohomairangi Putiputi Matakātea

Tiahorangi Keepa

Titahi Bay Intermediate

Georgia Ellis

Pirihira Balt

Titahi Bay North School

Maiarangi Waipara

Titahi Bay School

Sky Ruha

Ryan Hemsley

Wellington Seventh Day Adventist School

Xinia Edpalina

Wendy Va'afusuaga

Windley School

Hayden Patu

Reaneeta Manila

12 Aug 2019