Awards and recognition

We celebrate success at Porirua City and here are some great things that our teams have been doing recently.

Kumara Awards, 2023, logo

Placemaking award|Kūmara Award

Tiakina te whenua, ka manaakitia te tangata |Caring for the land, caring for the people
2023 e Kukuwai o Toa, wetland in Elsdon

Collaboration between Porirua City Council, Wellington Water Ltd, Ministry for the Environment and mana whenua Ngāti​ Toa

Green Flag, 2023, logo

Whenua Tapu keeps Green Flag status

2023 - Whenua Tapu

The award was given to Whenua Tapu last year, after mystery visits from experienced judges. The accreditation is overseen by Recreation Aotearoa and is seen across the country as a benchmark standard for a recreation area.

lgnz logo 2023

Planting project takes out top award

2022 - Te Awarua-o-Porirua Harbour Porirua’s Streamside Planting Programme

Porirua City Council programme won the Air New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Wellbeing

SOLGM 2023, logo

Porirua City Council wins national award for bringing tamariki and rangatahi to the fore

2020 - At the Heart of our City

At the Heart of Our City: Strategic Framework for Children & Young People in Porirua won the SOLGM - Tompkins Wake Award for Better Policy & Regulation

Entertainment Venues Association of New Zealand , logo, 2023

Te Rauparaha Arena wins Venue of the Year

2018 - Te Rauparaha Arena

The Porirua venue won the Medium Venue of the Year (1001 to 4999 seats) at the 2018 Entertainment Venues Association of New Zealand annual awards

  • 2016: Supreme Business Awards - Downer, the main contractor for Porirua City Council Find out more
  • 2009: Prime Ministers award for Excellence - Joint initiative between Porirua City Council and Police awarded Public Sector Excellence. Find out more
  • 2009: Village plan programme - Recognised with a national award, the judges impressed with the "bottom-up" approach taken by the city council. Find out more here
  • 2003: The Ara Harakeke pathway - Porirua City Council won a Cycle Friendly Award for this project from the Cycling Advocates' Network in 2003