Mayoral certificate of recognition awards

Mayoral Certificates of Recognition are awarded by the Mayor on behalf of the Porirua City to any individual or group that has made a significant contribution to the Porirua City Community, or has made a significant achievement that deserves to be recognised by the Porirua City community.

2017 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • John Gilbert

2016 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • Jenny Lester
  • Margaret Smith
  • Tristan Will
  • Rosemary Patterson
  • Mazina Jalal
  • John Rowe
  • Phil O’Connell
  • Phil Roache
  • Barbara Edmonds
  • Pania Houkamau-Ngaheu 

For commitment to the concept and delivery of the Paekakariki Escarpment with the Te Araroa Trust

  • John Craig
  • Andrew Simm
  • Bill Wakelin
  • John Farrell

For dedication and Service to Porirua City as a member of the Ngāti Toa Māori Wardens

  • Heniaka August
  • Michael August
  • Mitch Toheriri
  • Wene Gilbert
  • Thompson Hau
  • Richard Quirk
  • Miriam Quirk

For services to Education and the People of Porirua

  • Terry Ryan

2015 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

For superb service in the fields of both business and community affairs to the citizens of Porirua City

  • David & Beryl Pimblott

For 20 years of dedicated community work and service to the people of Porirua City

  • Porirua Community Services Centre Incorporated

For dedicating her entire nursing career to the care of Porirua people

  • Christine Campbell

2014 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • Dennis and Enid Kennemore
  • Pip Piper
  • Marie Wright
  • Elizabeth Meaclem 

For contributions to the Gigatown Porirua campaign

  • Vee Muamua
  • Richard Higgins
  • Emily Tutaki
  • Sala Nimorata
  • Bron Brockie
  • Rachel Basher
  • Jacqui Edwards
  • Leta Roche
  • Matt O'Hagan
  • Tez Hughes
  • Hoani Fuimaono
  • Anna Horvath
  • Barry Prescott
  • Andrew Strugnell
  • Matty Warmington
  • Piux Turua
  • Michael Taikiturua
  • Luke Pilkinton-Ching
  • Kamini Soma
  • Rob Neru
  • Paniora Nukunuku
  • Chris O'Connell
  • Mark Remfrey
  • Lynell Huria
  • Makere Derbyshire
  • Bobbie Barnett
  • Elyse Childs
  • Lisa Sefine Tagaloa

2013 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • Sam Hunt 
  • Dr Allan Smith

For commitment to developing successful new solutions for education in Porirua City

  • Joy Allcock

For many years of superb voluntary service to the people and natural environment of Porirua City

  • Dennis & Anne Ormsby

2011 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • Marilyn Baigent
  • Paula Warren
  • Nathan and Hayley Cooksley
  • Grant Te Tau
  • The Fource Barbershop Quartet: Knoxana Leasi, Olivia Samuel, Theodora Esera and Georgina Peniamina 

For going beyond the call of duty in service to the community

  • Damon Boyer-Marwood

2008 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • Thomas Thomas
  • Gordon Walsh 

2007 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition 

  • Phil Jensen
  • Rosetta (Rosie) Gallen 

2003 Mayoral Certificates of Recognition

  • Julie Obren
  • Grant Te Tau